Build with Yarn Contest

As many of my loyal readers know is that I love to crochet.  I am one of the few men in this world that do.  But something that you may not know about me is that I love the website Instructables.  This website is a “web-based documentation platform where passionate people share what they do and how they do it, and learn from and collaborate with others.”  I sincerely believe that today, with all the information that we have at our fingertips, there is nothing that we can’t do without a little research, and maybe some patience.

When I grew up and finally went to college, I had a hard time picking a career path because I like to do everything.  I was a Jack-of-all-trades and the Master-of-none, as the saying goes.  I also became more frustrated when my brother went to college for electrical engineering.  He grew up and you knew that electrical engineering was what he was going to do.  College was just another step towards reaching that goal.  With me it was a little more difficult.  I didn’t have that single niche that I could fall back on.  I took physics, phychology, math, english, literature courses and even got involved with forensics and speech and debate.  I loved doing all of them.  I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do.  So then I decided that being a Jack-of-all-trades IS my niche. And I wanted to exploit that.  So now I believe that there is nothing that I can’t do, and I am willing to try anything.  This website is that avenue that I needed to document and show off what I have done. 

Instructables has contests periodically for the best instructable.  Finally, they have one that I can do.  This one is called the Build with Yarn Contest.  They are simply looking for the best structure that is build out of yarn.  You can crochet, knit, wrap in yarn.  The sky is the limit.  Check it out! There are only a few entries so you have a good chance of winning.

Leave a Reply

